by Kathy James

Wow!

After my last blog, I was stopped in my tracks by a natural phenomenon each day for the next four days! Firstly, I was driving northwards along the A55 on Thursday evening and as I went down the hill towards Malltraeth marsh a mumuration of starlings fluttered in unison across the road ahead of me. It was the largest flock i’d seen so far this year and it made me exclaim “wow” out loud (and to myself!). I am very fond of Starlings and they are not a bird I get to see much of up at South Stack so these increasingly large gatherings are really exciting for me!

The second “wow-moment” literally did stop me in my tracks this time. As I made my way on foot through a housing estate in Valley I saw a dead Starling in the middle of the road. I paused and looked for signs of life, there were none. About ten minutes later I returned along the route and stood mouth-wide-open when I saw the very same Starling standing up and looking at me. We watched each other for a short while as I was deciding what to do with him; I had a box in my car and I thought I could manage to throw my coat over him. I decided though that he didn’t look injured, probably just a little bit stunned and so I encouraged him out of the road and under some cover. He amazed me.

Saturday’s “wow-moment” arose as I turned the last corner before the South Stack turn off from the direction of Holyhead. The sun had turned into a huge, molten red and orange ball and was dripping into the sea. Once again saying “wow” aloud, I decided that it was incredible that mother nature had provided me with three such experiences in such quick succession. If you haven’t watched the sun set from South Stack, stick it on your bucket list!

Sunday only added to the string of moments. As I once more rounded the corner up towards South Stack I was greeted with something I’d never seen before. Ireland had marched across the sea to say hello! I have often seen Ireland in the distance from Ellin’s Tower on a clear day, but this time it was as though we were on the Isles of Scilly with Samson just across the road. I cannot describe how brilliantly close the Wicklow hills looked that evening as the sunset and unfortunately nor can a photograph illustrate it so well as being there. Wow.

As well as my wow-moments this week I was also happy to catch up with the wintering Pale-bellied Brent Greese at Penrhos Country Park and a fabulous Black Redstart which came to say hello to me as I passed someone’s front garden in Valley.

So tommorow I will once more try to catch up with my bogie-bird the Ring Ouzel and see what Bangor Bird Group and Frozen Planet have in store!

Kathy x

Leave a Reply

