by Kathy James

Buzzard, Fox, Rabbit, Pheasant, Unidentified Bird, Fox, Unidentified Bird, Pheasant, Buzzard.

The above is a list of the road-kill I saw along the A55 on Monday. I think it’s sad that the most I see of British mammals is their carcass along the side of the road 😦 Thankfully, on this particular journey I saw no Badgers. My friend Ken added to this list when I spoke to him as he’d also seen a Barn Owl lying dead in the road.

After all the road-kill, was a lovely day out in Cheshire. We called in at Tatton Park to see Red and Fallow Deer followed by a walk around Quarry Bank Mill. A highlight for me being Long-tailed Tits twinkling around my head in the trees and bushes as a Nuthatch darted across to a tree on the otherside of the river.

This week’s Bangor Bird Group talk was by local birder, Robin Sandham. It was a brilliant, interactive presentation by a passionate birder. It was great to hear how Rob’s interest had developed from an early age and that he lived to bird and was forced to work! Rob, along with others, contributes to the blog ‘We Bird North Wales’ which can be found at http://webirdnorthwales.blogspot.com/.

Another shout out for Frozen Planet and the gorgeous Emperor Penguins. I was in fits of giggles at them slip-sliding their way across the Antarctic. Very cute!

I’m a bit behind on Iolo Williams’ series Iolo’s Jewels of Wales, but as I caught up with a couple last week I realised it’s a delightful programme! Iolo is a fantastic ambassador for Wales, but let’s face it; the landscape and wildlife he showed us speak for themselves. It was wonderful to hear the sound of birds in Spring and it started me missing their dulcet tones. I already have a seemingly endless list of places to visit in Wales and Iolo has just added to them. Thanks!

The RSPB reserve at Malltraeth is proving very interesting at the moment if you’re looking for a place to visit. Nigel Brown from Bangor University has spotted a group of Whooper Swans and Ken has seen a Marsh and Hen Harrier! Wow. Plus, there’s a phenomenal Starling roost there of an evening (I’m yet to get down there thanks to working in daylight hours).

Speaking of work, this week my work took me to B&Q in Llandudno where I was pleased to learn what the company are doing to promote sustainability and energy saving. I was unaware that the government have specified that as of next year 100% of timber sold here must come from a sustainable source – great news! Cliff Holiday, the Llandudno branch manager happily informed me that B&Q are leaders in this field and have been working towards this goal for the past ten years. He added “even the wooden handles on paintbrushes are from a sustainable source”. B&Q are in fact a founder member of the Forest Stewardship Council (FSC) and already 100% of their wooden goods are FSC or Programme for the Endorsement of Forest Certification (PEFC) marked. It’s great to know that such large companies are taking substantial measures to combat habitat loss and it would make me more inclined to visit them as a customer.

Well have a good weekend and I hope it’s not too windy where you are!

Kathy x

Leave a Reply

