by Kathy James

What a difference a day makes!?

What a pleasure it is to be alive these brief sunny July days! The sunshine certainly makes things seem better (especially after having had so little!). Cemlyn shows it’s softer side when the wind drops and the sun bounces off the water. Something like the St Ives effect… I’ve heard it said that artists are drawn to St Ives (in Cornwall) because it is surrounded by the sea and consequently the light is reflected in great quantity. Having spent a lot of time there when my Mum lived there, I am certainly under it’s spell.

Last week I was especially lucky to spend my day off in the sun. Simple pleasures like wearing flip-flops and no coat, sitting outside of a cafe and actually feeling warm, these things help to content me. I have to add that Laura’s delicious Butternut Squash soup and a refreshing Elderflower presse helped also. Laura is the hands-on owner of Ann’s Pantry in Moelfre (which I can highly recommend!). It’s a gorgeous little place with scrummy food and with a garden for days like these (can’t help but think of the Van Morrison song).

I was visiting this part of Anglesey to go kayaking. And what a brilliant time I had!? Pictured above is Ynys Moelfre, affectionately known as Rat Island too! Rats didn’t appear to be much of a problem for the birds that had evidently bred there though… Shags, Cormorants, Lesser Black-backed Gulls and as I travelled through Y Swnt (the channel between the small island and the village of Moelfre) the eponymous “Kittiwake” call rattled through my ears. I had been told that Kittiwakes are named after their call, but I had never actually had the realisation that this is so phonetic until I passed by that island serenaded with “Kittiwake, Kittiwake”. I was taken aback and grinned like an idiot! An awesome sound and a pleasure to witness.

And finally…I am pleased to announce that I have arranged ‘Anglesey Marine Week’; a week of events in August to celebrate the wonderful marine environment that surrounds Anglesey. From August 18th-25th, these events will be open to all; local residents and tourists alike, aiming to enthuse about what our seas have to offer. I am liasing with the participating organisations and businesses to put the finishing touches to the timetable before I share the details with you. In the meantime, I am so excited at the prospect of all the inspiring events and hope that you’ll be able to join me at one or maybe more of the events on offer 🙂

Here’s to more sunny days by the sea!
Kathy x

4 responses

  1. Susannah Jennings

    yay! Kathy here’s to Sunny days by the sea! I have enjoyed two last sunny days yesterday at work being at outside and today sorting out community garden! xx

    July 21, 2012 at 9:31 pm

    • Sunny days make the poor pay worthwhile! X

      July 21, 2012 at 10:31 pm

  2. Great to hear about Anglesey week. We were going somewhere else that week but it’s been cancelled, so we might make Anglesey instead! Ann’s Pantry sounds pretty luscious, too.

    July 23, 2012 at 2:16 pm

    • Watch this space… Ann’s Pantry might just be taking part in Anglesey Marine Week…

      July 23, 2012 at 8:06 pm

Leave a Reply

